jump to navigation

the luxury of being alone July 10, 2007

Posted by Alex Danger in Biking, Brooklyn, Reflection.
trackback

Biking is for lovers

Last night, while sitting on the roof of my building enjoying the breeze and mostly-unadulterated view of northwest Brooklyn, I realized why biking to work feels not only physically, but mentally healthier. It’s the only time of the day when I’m pretty much alone. Aside from the time I spend in the bathroom, I’m surrounded by people almost all day long.

I live with roommates, I sleep with my girlfriend, I work with – well, you get the picture. If I take the subway to work, I’m alone probably 1% of my day. If I bike, however, I have about an hour a day where it’s just me. I can go where I want (so long as I obey or at least stay wary of traffic laws). I can take my time, do my thing, go at my pace. I can reflect or theorize, which is kinda hard to do when you’re running for the train or looking for a seat.

I always feel really independent, too. No other practical form of transportation offers this independence. You’re always relying on externalities – the train conductor, the 8 million commuters, gasoline, money. When I’m biking it’s just me. My fuel, my legs, my breakfast – if I screw up, it’s my fault, but most of the time, I love that my body can move me 10 miles a day.

I haven’t biked much since I fell off on the fourth of july, and I’ve been feeling really cranky about it. I was going to go today, but I nixed the idea when I saw it was high 90s (and I am somewhat sick). But really, I can’t fucking wait to get back in the saddle.

Bike picture by Marc for b-minus designs.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

